Jelly Balls and Family Dinner

IMG-20130611-00043Jelly balls are a family favourite and one of my Mom’s best recipes.  They are great as an appetizer at a party or on some rice with a big salad for a week night dinner.  I believe this is one of the few recipes that I have not made for Jonathan yet.  I have to hold back a few special recipes – especially a delicious one like this!  The ingredients might sound odd, grape jelly, chili sauce and soy sauce, but they combine to create amazing flavour.

It has been great to have dinners together as a family before I become a married woman.  Already it seems like a rare occasion when all six of us are in the house together.  This recipe says home to me and of course love.  My Mom has many treasured recipes and of course the secret ingredient is love!

Yesterday, I had a final dress fitting, so everything is going along well with the wedding details.  Monday will be the day when we tie the ribbons on the wedding favours.  My Aunt and sisters will be helping.  Nine days left!Jelly Balls

Ingredients

1 LB Lean Ground Beef

1 Egg, beaten

½ cup fine bread crumbs

3 Tbsp Chopped Parsley

½ cup chopped onion

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce

¼ tsp Pepper

Sauce

12 oz chili sauce

10 oz jar of grape jelly

1 tsp Lemon Juice

2 tbsp Brown Sugar

1 tbsp Soy Sauce

Instructions:

1.  In a pot bring sauce ingredients to a simmer and stir well.

2.  In a bowl, mix together ground beef, onion, parsley, egg, salt, pepper, and Worcestershire sauce.

3.  With your hands form small meatballs.  Put uncooked meatballs in the boiling sauce.

4.  Simmer in sauce til cooked, for 30 minutes.

2 responses

  1. I have never tasted these but heard they are delicious, my friend makes them every time she entertains but never gave me the recipe, now I have it. Thank you for posting this. I can’t wait to try these.

Leave a Reply

