Early Grey Shortbread cookies and Bachelorette Brunch

Earl Grey TeaThe recipe for Earl Grey shortbread cookies is one of my best tested and fail proof recipes.   The recipe is also very versatile.  It is delicious with Earl Grey tea, green tea, as a plain shortbread cookie without the tea, with sprinkles on top or with a fruit preserve blended in.  This recipe goes well with some pictures from brunch because just like good friends this recipe never lets me down.  I wanted a bachelorette brunch because I love food – and wanted time to relax and chat with friends.   We all had so much fun getting dressed up for brunch in Toronto and spending the day together.Me and my BridesmaidsBeef Wellington and brunchCranberry Waffle with Plum CapoteCream puffs and mini cheesecakeDesserts

Laura did a fantastic job hosting the bachelorette brunch and she put together beautiful gift bags.  It included passionfruit tea, a nail polish and some jelly beans – my favourite!  Laura is my Matron of Honour and she is doing a wonderful job so far!  We always tease her that her real career should be party planning because she does it so well.  All the little details come together so nicely when she is planning a party.  Laura knows me well, and knows I love food, and the King Edward Hotel is extremely well known for its delicious brunch.  Some of my favourite things from brunch were: Beef Wellington, mini cranberry waffles with plum capote, all the fresh fruit, pesto chicken, smoked salmon and so much more!  My sisters who are able to enjoy nuts and chocolate had a blast with the dessert table.  There was chocolate mousse, red velvet cupcakes, cream puffs dipped in chocolate, and mini cheesecake.  I could not have dreamed of a better day with my bridesmaids, Mom, Grandma and Aunt!  I am extremely lucky to have such wonderful people in my life.

Mom and Me

Stay tuned to my blog for my Mom’s blueberry Grand Marnier jam recipe!  Mom, Ophelia and Heather made the jam a few weeks ago and it looks amazing.  These little treats will be the wedding favours on the tables at the wedding.  We will be having a little get together to tie ribbons and put stickers on the jam jars.  My Mom has worked in product development for many many years and says this is the best jam she has ever tasted!  We have similar tastes so I know the jam is going to be amazing!

Earl Grey Shortbread Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon Earl Grey tea leaves, finely ground
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In your mixer, mix softened butter and slowly add in sifted icing sugar.  Add in vanilla extract.

3. Mix flour and salt together in a separate bowl.  Slowly add to the butter sugar mixture.

4. If the batter looks too dry and its not coming together, add 1 tsp at a time, a little bit of water.

5. Put plastic wrap on the counter and wrap the dough in a log shape.  Then refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

6.  Slice and place on your cookie sheet.

7.  Bake for 12 minutes, until very lightly golden at the edges.

8. Enjoy!

10 responses

Leave a Reply

