Bestellen, Kinton Ramen & Brunch at The County General

Last week Jonathan and I tried out a few new restaurants in Toronto.  For dinner we went to Bestellen, Chef Rob Rossi’s latest creation. It had a great atmosphere and friendly wait staff.  I ordered the strozzapreti with hen of the woods mushrooms, heirloom tomatoes, leeks, and basil.  The flavours were wonderful, perfectly combined and beautifully presented.  I don’t have a picture of my meal because the lighting in the restaurant was a little dark.  Jonathan ordered the butcher’s daily meal, which was an 8oz steak topped with chimichurri and served with beets and greens. I tried a few bites and it was perfectly cooked.  It is their selection of meats that the Bestellen is known for and it was delicious.  (The photo below is from the Bestellen website, and I just had to share it, since we had such a lovely meal there.)

For brunch the next morning, we went to the County General on Queen Street. It’s owned by the same people who run Splendido, where we’re having our wedding reception next June!  Jonathan ordered a chicken thigh sandwich which was very tasty.  I ordered the pig on a blanket and I don’t know why I ordered it.  It was a pigs cheek on a bed of zucchini and I did not like the texture.  The waiter at the restaurant said it was one of his favourites.  However, luckily for me, Jonathan switched his meal with mine.  (I found a picture on The County General website of the chicken thigh sandwich.  Also on the website is a picture of their unique interior.)

Now for the dessert I did take my own picture.  It was a delicious buttermilk cake with Ontario blueberry compote.One last restaurant should be included in our restaurant exploration from last week  is Kinton Ramen.  All of the ramen noodles are made on site.  Our seat was near the kitchen, so we could see it all being freshly prepared, and the large pots of pork broth bubbling.  The portions were far to large for me to finish, but Jonathan and his friend Ian were able to eat every last bite.  I ordered the miso ramen and Jonathan and Ian ordered the spicy garlic ramen.  I definitely want to go to Kinton Ramen again sometime soon.  I love noodles so really its a dream come true for me.  We went on a very humid day, so it may not have been the best day to go for a hot bowl of soup with ramen noodles.  There was a huge wait for this trendy new restaurant, about 30 minutes, so we knew it must be good, if people were waiting 30 minutes for a bowl of ramen.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

