Carrot Oatmeal Cookies (Vegan!)

As I mentioned in my previous post, I recently discovered the blog 101 Cookbooks.  After yesterday’s great success, I decided to try the carrot oatmeal cookie recipe this morning.  It has many ingredients that I love (carrots, oats, and maple syrup) so I felt I couldn’t go wrong.  I don’t want to over exaggerate, but this recipe is truly amazing! I could eat a million of these – okay a little bit of hyperbole – but they are just so flavourful with a perfect cookie texture.  It is definitely one of my new top five favourite cookies.

I feel like these could also be considered a breakfast cookie because they have the light sugary flavour from the maple syrup, relaxing oats, and always delicious carrots.  Perhaps they could be considered healthy-ish.  Adding carrots makes everything healthier right?  Also – no eggs – which makes them vegan!  The cookies went perfectly with a cup of tea and I have eaten four already.

The recipe makes the perfect amount of small cookies (about two dozen) and not that much mess.  One bowl to clean up, which is not bad, considering the major messes I have made in the kitchen in the past.  Jonathan and my Mom will attest to some of my huge kitchen chaos moments.

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour (you could use whole wheat pastry flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 cup rolled oats (I was bad and used quick oats, but they seemed to work out)
1 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup real maple syrup, room temperature
1/2 cup canola oil (the original recipe calls for coconut oil)
½ teaspoon of ground ginger and ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375F degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, ground ginger, ground cinnamon and oats. Add the shredded carrots.  Measure out the maple syrup and canola oil and then add to the flour mixture and stir until just combined.

Drop onto prepared baking sheets, one level tablespoonful at a time, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie. Bake in the top 1/3 of the oven for 10 – 12 minutes or until the cookies are golden on top and bottom.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

10 responses

  1. these look awesome and so healthy…i will def try to make these this week. first got to buy some of the ingred. thanks for the share…the colors looks nice too !

Leave a Reply

