Busy, Busy, Busy (Convocation, Bachelorette Party & Fudge!)

This week I graduated from Queen’s University with my Bachelor of Education (Intermediate/ Senior divisions).  This means I am certified to teach high school in Ontario, grades 7-12.  Mom, Dad, Jonathan and I drove to Kingston, Ontario for the convocation ceremony.  The weather was absolutely beautiful and it felt great to walk across the stage and accept my degree.  In whatever job I end up doing I hope to use the skills I have learned in teaching.  Every job needs people who can read, write, communicate and show empathy and compassion.  I also saw a few friends from the Trent-Queen’s concurrent program, which was awesome!  My friend Kirsten spent some time in Northern England teaching, so it was great to catch up with her and share some stories.

After the ceremony we went to Woodenheads, which is one of Kingston’s best gourmet pizza establishments.  I ordered a pizza with onions, meatballs,  Gruyere cheese and white truffle oil.  Jonathan got a pizza with apple butter, blackened chicken, cheddar cheese and caramalized onions. Needless to say it was absolutely delicious.  I was dangerously wearing a white dress, but did not spill anything on it (yay!)  It was perfect weather for a sundress. Mom had been wanting to try the pizza at Woodenheads for a long time.  I had told her about the amazing fresh ingredients and perfect crust.

In other news, this weekend we had Laura’s bachelorette party in Toronto!  We went out for a lovely gourmet Italian dinner, martinis and dancing.  The next day – we made the wedding favours (Hence the title ‘busy, busy, busy.’)  Mom invited her wonderful friends Ophelia and Heather over to help.  Alison (Laura’s fiance Chris’s Mom) also participated in making many batches of fudge.  Cutting out the fudge, assembling boxes and doing dishes were the main jobs.  Mom had it all planned out so it was a well functioning assembly line.  Auntie Andrea came to help with all of the packaging and cutting and it was quite the project.  The fudge mini wedding cakes look spectacular – I just know everyone will love it!

*I did not personally make the fudge (Mom, Ophelia, Healther and Alison get all of the credit.  Mom used a recipe from Martha Stewart.

 

5 responses

  1. Beautiful! Those individual wedding cakes have raised the Barr for high expectations for your sister’s wedding cake for sure. Totally gorgeous, you’ll have people asking for that recipe time & time again I think!

Leave a Reply

