Cinnamon Dolce Latte Cupcakes

My sister Victoria had a bottle of Starbucks Cinnamon Dolce syrup in our cupboard, so my natural response?

Cinnamon Dolce Latte Buttercream Icing!

Just another weekday for me, making cupcakes and experimenting with buttercream icing ideas.  They were delicious, sweet and awesome like their latte version.  Cinnamon Dolce lattes are my second favourite latte from Starbucks, (vanilla bean lattes being my absolute, number one favourite.)  However, they are Victoria’s favourite, so they inspired these cupcakes.

Jonathan will be tasting this cupcake when he comes to Aurora tonight after a long day working at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).  I will be listening to CBC Radio all day, just in case he is on air.  He works as an associate producer part time and sometimes reads the weather!

Vanilla Cupcakes (makes 12, adapted from dessarts.com)

3/4 cup buttermilk
6 Tbsp unsalted butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
Pinch of salt
1 1/4 tsp baking powder

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350° F and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Cream the butter and sugar in an electric mixer until light and fluffly.

Add the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture and mix until combined.

Sift together the dry ingredients.

Alternate adding the milk mixture and dry ingredients to the egg mixture. Mix each addition until combined. Fill the cupcake liners to ¾ full.

Bake at 350 °F for 15-18 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

Cinnamon Dolce Latte Buttercream Icing (for 12 cupcakes)

½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

2 ½ cups confectioner’s sugar

1 tsp instant coffee

1 tsp warm water, to dissolve coffee

1 tbsp cinnamon dolce syrup

enough milk to amount to ¼ cup

Instructions

Cream butter in mixer until fluffy, slowly add in confection’s sugar in additions until fully incorporated.  Add liquid in slowly, keeping an eye on the consistency of the icing.  Put buttercream icing in piping bag to decorate cupcakes.

12 responses

  1. Yummy!!! How are the cupcakes themselves? When I’ve made “from scratch” cake, it always turns out dry. Are these moist? I’m hoping to make Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes for Father’s Day as that’s one of my dad’s favorite cakes – so I may just use your cupcake recipe for the cake portion! 🙂

    • I found them to be moist and in between in their texture on the scale of super light and fluffy and pound cake. The recipe I have for strawberry puree cupcakes is super light and fluffy, but when I made Bailey’s cupcakes I used a pound cake recipe. So these are in between. I enjoyed them 🙂

  2. That sounds like an amazing icing. I am sure my teenagers would just lick off the frosting and leave the cupcakes on the plate. Nothing like a little sugar buzz to start the day. Take Care, BAM

Leave a Reply

