Spicy Bacon Mac and Cheese

I was trying to brainstorm new ideas for my blog yesterday and my friend Emily suggested a spicy version of mac and cheese.  Jonathan is always asking me to add more spice to things, so I thought I would give it a try.  I added 8 strips of bacon, a teaspoon of crushed chili flakes and 8 drops of Louisiana hot sauce to my tradition mac and cheese recipe.  Well, the flavour was perfect!  It was very easy to add variation to my mac and cheese recipe.  Through adding spices, different ingredients – I made an already amazing recipe, even better!

I made this mac and cheese recipe all the way through university.  I love cooking and baking and it was an easy thing to make.  In second year my roommates Emily, Laura & I had some good times in that little kitchen.  We made cookies, lasagna, mac and cheese and random experiments.  We even managed to clean up – most of the time!  My sister Sarah is going into her second year of university this fall, so hopefully she’ll make a few family favourites such as mac and cheese in her new off-campus apartment.  She will be considered very gourmet, making mac and cheese that is NOT from the box!

Ingredients:

2 cups of uncooked elbow macaroni

¼ cups of butter or margarine

½ teaspoon of salt

¼ teaspoons of pepper

1 teaspoon crushed chili flakes

8 drops of Louisiana hot sauce (or hot sauce of your choice)

¼ cup of flour

2 cups of milk

2 cups of cheddar cheese

8 strips of bacon cooked, then torn into bite sized pieces

 Instructions:

Cook bacon and crumble into bite sized pieces.  Blend melted margarine, salt, pepper, crushed chili flakes and flour.  Add milk and stir till bubbling.  Add in cheese and stir.  Add in bacon bits, hot sauce and stir thoroughly.  Cook in oven at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.

The peonies in the backyard are in bloom, so here are a few pictures I took.  Enjoy!

8 responses

  1. A few of my favorite things.. Bacon, homemade mac n’ cheese and peonies!! 🙂 I usually add cayenne to my mac n’ cheese because I love a good spicy kick! Looks delicious and the peonies are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

