Mom’s Light as Air Waffles

Waffles for brunch is one of my Mom’s specialties.  It is a great treat for the whole family to sit down together and enjoy her light-as-air waffles.  These waffles are great because you can have three and not feel bad.  For this brunch Sarah made the bacon and eggs, I made the waffles and Mom made the fruit tray and everything else that made brunch come together smoothly.  Brunch is about the details: fresh fruit, a dollop of whipping cream, Canadian maple syrup, crisp bacon on the side and of course the secret ingredient – love!

My Mom has instilled a love for kitchen gadgets and cooking in me.  So I hope to start my own collection of kitchen gadgets soon.  Jonathan and I love having friends and family around, so I’m sure we will be extending lots of invitations for brunch once we are married and have our own home.  I’m sure our future kitchen will have a waffle maker and many kitchen gadgets.  When I have my own kitchen someday, I won’t be able to resist going into Aurora’s Kitchen Accents store and buying many of my Mom’s tested, tried and true kitchen gadgets.

Ingredients

2 egg yolks

2 cups of milk

2 cups of all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1/3 cup canola oil

2 egg whites

Instructions

  1. Mix together flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Beat egg whites with an electric mixer until stiff peaks form.
  3. Add egg yolks, milk and canola oil to the try ingredients and combine until moist.
  4. Fold in egg whites with a spatula.
  5. Get out your waffle maker and cook for approximately two minutes or according to your waffle maker instructions.
  6. Serve with fresh fruit, maple syrup, a dollop of whipping cream and a touch of icing sugar for garnish.
  7. Enjoy!
9 responses

Leave a Reply

