Extreme Baking: Cupcakes, Meatloaf, and Bundt Cake

Leslie the Foodie has been very busy in the kitchen lately.  Yesterday I made four dozen cupcakes for my sister’s bridal shower on Sunday.  I made one batch of light and fluffy strawberry cupcakes and one batch of red velvet cupcakes.  The oven was on for a very long time!  I put the cupcakes in the freezer and I will ice them and decorate them with fondant flowers on Saturday.

Then, I made my blueberry yogurt bundt cake for my Dad to take into a meeting at work.  Dad wanted to have a snack for all of the hard working staff at the City of Toronto.  There will be more desserts to come for his co-workers who have been loyally following my blog!

Happy Birthday Dad!

In addition to these projects, I made dinner last night for Dad’s birthday.  I made one of our family’s favourite comfort foods – barbeque meatloaf.  Along with delicious baked potatoes and some peas, it was a perfect dinner.  There were a few extra cupcakes from the morning so I whipped up some icing and we had them for dessert.

Dad has been very supportive of my blog and likes to make lots of suggestions.  I’m sure this summer he will want me to do a post with a fish fresh from the lake.  He gets a kick out of fishing up at the cottage and I’m sure he will this summer as well.

I’m not sure what the best recipes for bass are, but I will start researching now.  There are some other fish in the lake, but fishing isn’t really my area of expertise. I will leave that to Dad.

Barbeque Meatloaf Recipe

Ingredients

-1 pound of lean ground beef

-1/2 cup to 1 cup of bread crumbs

-1/2 cup of finely chopped onion

-1 large egg

-1/2 cup Diana’s barbeque sauce or your favourite barbeque sauce

Instructions
Mix ground beef, egg, breadcrumbs, onion and half cup of barbeque sauce together in a bowl until thoroughly blended.  Pour some extra Diana barbeque sauce on top of the meatloaf.  Then form a loaf shape in a casserole dish.  Bake at 375 F for one hour.  You can put the baked potatoes in at the same time for an hour.

8 responses

Leave a Reply

