Salad and Healthy Food

I just did the grocery shopping  for making cupcakes and mini cheesecakes for my sister’s bridal shower this weekend.  Having bought a huge bag of flour, two pounds of butter, 1kg of icing sugar and 3 packages of cream cheese, I am feeling fat just thinking about all of those ingredients.  For that reason I would like to reflect on salad.  This upcoming weekend is going to be a carb-opolooza, so I would like to think happy green vegetable thoughts for a while.  I know my blog features a great deal of baked goods, so I assure you I eat salads and healthy foods too!

Last week Jonathan and I went to Fresh; a restaurant with three locations in Toronto. It’s been around for a while, but it was my first time going there.  I ordered the baby beach pasta bowl which is composed of: grilled red pepper, zucchini & sweet potato with avocado, sun-dried tomato, sunflower sprouts, olive oil, tamari, lemon, mixed herbs and goat cheese.  It was simply delicious and I definitely want to go back sometime soon.  I had never had soba noodles before (soba are noodles made from buckwheat flour).  I also ordered an antioxidant smoothie that was very tasty.  When I was at Chapters the other day, I saw two cookbooks from Fresh –  I flipped through the pages and there were many delicious looking recipes for salads, smoothies, and wraps. They are definitely going on my wish list.

I made the following salad today for lunch.  It has baby spinach greens, cucumber, red pepper, avocado, bacon and Balderson cheddar.  The salad dressing I made was quick and simple: 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 tbsp of rice wine vinegar, dash of salt, dash of freshly ground black pepper and two drops of lime juice.  It was a hearty and filling salad.

One of the biggest parts of healthy living is exercise and eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables.  So here is a beautiful afternoon snack – lovely organic oranges!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

