Guacamole Sliders

Last March, I was in California with my parents and Sarah. During our visit, we went to the Cheesecake Factory, after seeing it on The Big Bang Theory.  I ordered the California burger, which had guacamole on it – and it was delicious.

Since then, guacamole has become a favourite in our house. The avocado has a fresh and summery taste that reminds me of evenings sitting on the boathouse up north.  It’s major flavour with not too much work.  We were in a pinch for a tasty dinner last night, so out came the sliders and a tasty guacamole.

My only foodie sin from this dinner was the President’s Choice sparkling lemonade that was on sale at the grocery store.  In the ingredient listing there is tartrazine, which is a food colouring and oil by-product.  Usually I like to avoid such chemicals, but I was in a rush, and it really is a tasty beverage. I’m sure it is just as comparable to other carbonated beverages.  Next time I will make my own sparkling lemonade, I promise.

The instructions for guacamole are quite simple:

1. Slice two ripe avocado in half lengthwise and remove the pit with a spoon.  With your spoon separate the soft green part from the skin.

2. Mush the avocado with the back of the spoon like mashed potatoes.

3. Dice about a cup of tomatoes.  I cut cherry tomatoes into fours.

4. Chop about half of a red onion finely.

5. Add in a dash of salt and pepper.  Add in a splash of lime juice. Stir in red onion and tomato with the avocado.  Stir the whole thing and then it is ready to serve!

*If you are serving the guacamole later, make sure to store in an air tight container, otherwise the top of the avocado mixture will turn brown.

Leave a Reply

