Tomato, Basil and Bocconcini Salad

I was inspired to make this recipe based on Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.  In the cookbook is a recipe for Evolution Tomato Salad.  With the ingredients I had at home I modified the ingredients and made a similar salad.  This is what Jamie Oliver intended I’m sure, with his food revolution, getting people to use simple and fresh ingredients to enjoy healthy eating.

Jamie Oliver’s version has black olives, cannellini beans and tuna, which would be lovely.  However, we didn’t have those ingredients, but we did have cherry tomatoes, fresh basil, cherry sized bocconcini, extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar with strawberry.  The balsamic vinegar with strawberry can be purchased at specialty food stores.  Toss the ingredients together and what you get is a delicious lunch.

If you would like to support me in my foodie adventures, feel free to click on “My Amazon Store.”  I have posted some of my favourite cookbooks that inspire me.

Tomato, Basil and Bocconcini Salad (Makes a side salad for two)

One hand full of cherry tomatoes per person (sliced in half)

8 basil leaves (washed and torn into bite sided pieces)

4 cherry sized Bocconcini sliced into bite sided pieces

½ tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 tbsp of Balsalmic Vinegar of Moderna with strawberry

1 pinch of salt and pepper

Add ingredients into a bowl, toss with oil and vinegar and then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

