Mini Vanilla Cupcakes

So, one of the “problems” I’m experiencing writing this blog is that I’m making far too many delicious treats. While my family and friends aren’t exactly complaining, sometimes my creations do go stale, which makes me sad. Then I discovered Dessert For Two, a wonderful site that has instructions on how to make desserts that have smaller portions.

Now, I love everything mini: miniature schnauzers, mini cupcakes, and me – I’m only 5’1! Not only do mini cupcakes fit well with my personality, but there is also the added benefit that more than one can be consumed. Jonathan and I bought a lovely mini cupcake pan at FreshCo. in Waterloo – it fits 12 mini cupcakes, which is the exact amount this recipe makes!

Changes to the recipe found on Dessert For Two were: canola instead of butter, no lemon since I wanted vanilla cupcakes and no almond extract since I am allergic. I try to make my baking AOAP (as organic as possible) and in this case, I used organic sugar and flour.

In Canada, milk and butter is heavily regulated, so I’m not quite convinced on the need to use organic dairy products. Sugar, flour, and fresh fruits and vegetables are definitely worth it though.  Organic blueberries and bananas, for example, taste so much better.  I hope to go completely organic some day, but for now my organic foods purchases are affected by cost and availability.

The purple sugar is on top is definitely not organic. It’s from Bulk Barn and it was on sale, 20% off, awesome!  What little girl didn’t go through a phase where she loved everything pink, purple or sparkly? (Truthfully, that feeling never goes away – I am thinking purple for the bridesmaid’s dresses at our wedding next year.)

Vanilla Mini Cupcakes

Yields 12 mini cupcakes (4 regular cupcakes)

Ingredients

Cupcake batter:

  • 4 tablespoons canola oil
  • 4 tablespoons organic sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 6 tablespoons unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

Icing:

  • ½ cup butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup of icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar)
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. In a mini cupcake pan, line 4 tins with liners or spray with cooking spray.  Preheat the oven to 375°F.
  2. In a medium bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a small bowl beat the egg with a fork or whisk.
  4. Add egg, sour cream, canola oil and vanilla extract.  Mix all ingredients well with a wooden spoon, but don’t over stir.
  5. Place cupcake batter in the cupcake pan filling ¾ full.  Bake at 375°F for 10 minutes or until golden brown at the sides.  (If you make a regular sized cupcake, bake for 15-18 minutes.)
  6. While the cupcakes cool, beat together all frosting ingredients.
  7. Frost cupcakes once they have cooled.
  8. Dip the tops of the iced cupcakes into colourful sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

