My Birthday Weekend 2012

Today is my birthday and this past weekend I celebrated my birthday with my fiancé Jonathan and my family.  On Saturday night Jonathan made a reservation for the two of us at Splendido in Toronto.  I had been looking forward to it all week.  On the menu was organic salmon all the way from Ireland.  The organic salmon was simply exquisite.  It was flavourful, fresh and expertly prepared with a white bean purée and blood oranges for garnish.

For dessert they brought out a candle and happy birthday sign.  There was also a chocolate cookie that Jonathan enjoyed.

Our main dessert was mini cheesecake with an apple sorbet.  The flavours were delicate and delicious.  The presentation was cute and gave me lots of ideas for my foodie blog.  Part of my gift from Jonathan was the Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes and Martha Stewart’s Pies and Tarts.  I am extremely excited to start trying out some of these recipes.

Sunday night my Mom prepared a special dinner for my birthday.  Mom made savory chicken crepes.  (A recipe I have not yet mastered)  An organic pear and organic green salad made the dinner complete.  For dessert Mom made her famous Apple Crisp.  This recipe I have made before so I feel I can share the recipe.  The apple crisp turned out wonderfully.  There was even vanilla ice cream that went perfectly with the warm apple crisp.  Each bite was like a little piece of heaven!

Apple Crisp Recipe

5 Granny Smith Apples (or any apple that you like baking with)

¾ cup oats

¾ cups brown sugar

½ cup flour

½ cup butter

½ tsp salt

½ tsp cinnamon

1.  Toss together apples and cinnamon.  Then place apples into bottom of lightly buttered baking dish.

2.  Mix together oats, brown sugar, flour, butter and salt until it forms a crumble topping.

3.  Sprinkle crumble topping over apples.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.  Serve warm.

 

Leave a Reply

