Lemon Squares

These are a tasty treat and really easy to make.  I had fun garnishing the plate with blackberries and blueberries.  Lemon is always a refreshing flavour and we had many lemons in the refrigerator.  I also had to go to the grocery store and buy more sugar because I have been doing so much baking.

Taking pictures of my lemon squares today I was reminded of ‘take-your-kid-to-work-day’ back in grade 9.  I went to work with my Mom, who was working in product development at Second Cup at the time.  Her day included a food photo shoot with coffee and muffins.  It was very exciting watching the food stylist and the photographer work their magic.  Unlike the food photographers doing that photo shoot, I only had one chance with making my lemon squares.  For the Second Cup photo shoot, my Mom had made probably around 60 large muffins, simply to create the effect of the perfectly textured muffin.  Just like back then in grade 9, I still look up to my Mom and her wonderful enthusiasm for baking and food.

Other good news that I am happy to report, is that I am making my spring daisy cupcakes for my sister Laura’s bridal shower!  I will be making 50 cupcakes and 50 fondant daisies.  These cupcakes are sure to be a hit.

Lemon Squares Recipe

Crust:

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup butter

¼ cup sugar

Lemon topping

1 cup sugar

2 tbsp all-purpose flour

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

2 eggs lightly beaten

2 tbsp grated lemon rind

3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (freshly squeezed is better)

Instructions

  1. In your food processor combine flour, sugar and butter until it looks crumbly.  Grease your 8 inch baking pan and then place the crumbly mixture in the pan.  Pat down on the crust.  Then bake for 20 minutes at 325 degrees F or until golden brown at the sides.
  2. For the lemon topping mix the sugar, flour, baking powder, salt, eggs, lemon rind and lemon juice in the food processor.  Mix well.
  3. Pour the lemon topping batter over the baked crust.  Bake at 325 degrees F for 20-25 minutes.
  4. Let cool before slicing into squares.
  5. With a sieve sprinkle lightly some icing sugar.  Put icing sugar into sieve and then lightly tap the sieve so that the sugar does not look heavy.
One response

Leave a Reply

