Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

This is my favourite blueberry muffin recipe.  I used organic sugar and organic wild Canadian blueberries (frozen from President’s Choice).  Organic where possibly is my preference, however not necessary.  These muffins never fail to disappoint me.  Coming from one of my Mom’s worn Canadian Living cookbooks, it is a favourite tried, tested and truly great recipe.  If you are using frozen berries, you could substitute cranberries for the blueberries, remember to dust the berries with flour before you add them into the batter at the end.  Dusting the berries with flour ensures the berries will not all float to the bottom of the muffin.  As you can see I love, love, love mini muffins and mini cupcake molds.  Two delicious bites and you’re ready for another!

Blueberry Muffin Recipe

1 ½ cups of flour

½ cup of sugar

2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1 egg

¾ cups of milk

1/3 cup of melted butter

1 cup of frozen blueberry or cranberries, dust with flour if frozen

Instructions

Mix dry and wet ingredients separately then combine.  Add blueberries last.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or til brown on top.

3 responses

  1. Leslie, this blog is already one of my favorite blogs. Organic is my preferance too (mainly because my boyfriend’s parents are organic food producers and they have introduced me to this field).

  2. I throughly enjoyed this recipe. The blueberry’s flavour really stood out because the batter wasn’t overly sweet. Also i love all the photos you put up, is photography another one of your hobbies?

Leave a Reply

