Valentine’s Day Cupcakes

These cupcakes are carrot, maple and cinnamon flavoured with a cream cheese icing. This time my recipe was inspired by the internet and this recipe in particular. Sometimes the internet can be just as good as a cookbook!

Modifications to the recipe are that I boiled and puréed the carrot instead of grating the carrot like a regular carrot cake. I also used butter instead of canola oil. These cupcakes were rich and tasty. Perfect for Valentine’s Day, however I had a huge mess to clean up after. Using the piping bag was fun and also messy. I always seem to get blobs of icing coming up the top. A few of the cupcakes had the food colouring unevenly mixed, but there were a few good ones. I was inspired by the Martha Stewart cupcake cookbook that I saw in Chapters.

Practice always makes perfect, so I will continue to practice my creativity with cupcakes and baking.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp salt
4 eggs
1 cup melted butter or canola oil
½ cup maple syrup

Icing
1 cup cream cheese
3 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp of vanilla
1 tbsp of milk or until even consistency, not too watery
2 drops of red food colouring

2 responses

Leave a Reply

