Motor Burger Restaurant Review/ I promise to get some recipes up soon!

No, my blog isn’t dead it was just taking a break.  So, here it is back in full swing!

Deux Chevaux Burger

Recently, Jonathan and I went to the restaurant Motor Burger in Windsor Ontario.  Jonathan had been very interested in trying this place and had heard wonderful reviews.  The burger Jonathan ordered was rated the Reader’s Digest #1 Burger.  The Deux Chevaux burger is served on brioche buns with baby spinach and Kozlik’s Daily Dijon mustard.  In addition there is delicious melted Gruyère, red onions caramelized in Maudite beer and beautiful strips of smoked bacon to top it.  It was a truly delicious burger!  Reader’s Digest also posted a recipe, which we will be sure to make soon.  (The recipe is posted at the bottom of this page.)  Jonathan and I have been eating out a fair bit because of a lack of a kitchen for the moment.  However, there will be a kitchen November 1st, so I can start baking up a storm.

Jonathan and I have enjoyed Windsor so far, yesterday we walked along the beautiful waterfront.  Jonathan and I, also went for dinner at Mazaar’s, which serves absolutely amazing Lebanese food.  If you are in the area it is a must! Across the river from Windsor is Detroit, which we will be visiting this weekend for some shopping – oh, the benefits of being so close to the border!   We have been having absolutely beautiful fall days and the weather in Windsor is definitely warmer than Toronto.  Fall weather is my favourite, where you can wear a sweater and stroll around enjoying the fall leaves.  While exploring Windsor has been fun, I have been busy working on online courses, but I hope to make time for more blog posts.

Vampire Gingerbread men

There are so many recipes that I hope to try out in the near future.  Here are a few recipe ideas that I have found on Pinterest.  These vampire gingerbread men look absolutely irresistible for Halloween.  I will have to search the web and test out some new gingerbread recipes.  The quinoa casserole idea looks like classic comfort food.  I have tried a few quinoa recipes, but not too many.  My sister Laura, loves quinoa, she also bought a new cookbook that has some scrumptious recipes that I am excited to try.  These are not my pictures, but when I try the recipes out at some point, I will post my thoughts on the recipe, and let you know if I have made any modifications.

Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

Deux Chevaux Burger Recipe

Ingredients

2/ 3 cup (150 mL) Worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp (25 mL) balsamic vinegar
1 tsp (5 mL) Dijon mustard
2 lb (1 kg) medium ground grade AA Canadian beef chuck and/or brisket
½ tsp (2 mL) salt

Directions

1. In small bowl, mix Worcestershire sauce, balsamic vinegar and Dijon mustard. Then, in large bowl, mix this marinade with ground beef until just combined. Shape into 4 patties, each ¾-inch- (2 cm) thick.

2. Place patties on greased grill over medium-high heat; sprinkle with salt, close lid and grill, turning once, for 1 minute per side. Transfer to baking sheet and cook in preheated 350°F (180°C) oven until digital thermometer inserted into centre reads 160°F (71°C), about 8 to 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

